EV advice for Highschool Student

Hi,

I’m an International Studies student nearing my final year of high school, and as a result, I need to produce a Personal Project. My idea is to create an electric vehicle, probably in the form of an electronically assisted recumbent Tricycle. However, being that I live in Québec, one of the most ev-unfriendly places in North America, most companies are situated across long distances. I’ve jumped from one idea to the other in terms of possible forms of EV transportation (Quadricycle, Bicycle, Car conversion) and I was hoping to know if anyone had any recommendations as to what companies I could obtain parts from or what form of vehicle to use. My budget is currently 1400 CAD and once I know exactly what I’ll be doing for the Personal Project, I’ll look into possible sponsors such as the EV club of BC or the manufacturers themselves.

As of now, the two most promising companies I’ve discovered in terms of a recument tricycle EV are ebikes (www.ebikes.ca) and Recument USA.

Hey, I’m glad to hear about your interest in EVs. I’m newly converted, and it took me about 5 years to finally make the plunge. Now I can’t believe I didn’t do it before.
Since mine is a car, I’m able to find plenty of deals from golf cart suppliers localy, even here in backwoods Texas. As far as a bike project goes, try www.evdeals.com , they have very good prices. I just bought my chargers from them. Good luck on your project and let us know how it goes.

I’m aware of quite a number of golf cart dealers in my area. How compatible/usable are golf cart parts in cars? I was thinking of using something like an early 90s Suzuki Swift.

[QUOTE=DeLorean_4;686]I’m aware of quite a number of golf cart dealers in my area. How compatible/usable are golf cart parts in cars? I was thinking of using something like an early 90s Suzuki Swift.[/QUOTE]