Display blinking once per sec: temp, turtle, wrench & 3 squares around DH, DL, R

Well, just when I thought I got everything fixed, I am stranded at work.

Go out to turn the GEM e4 on to head home and on the display the lights are blinking once per sec: temp, turtle, wrench & 3 squares around DH, DL, RR

The car will not engage when pressing the accelerator, nor does the backup beeper come on when shifting to reverse. Turn signals and headlights all work.

Just replaced the controller less than a two weeks ago from getting it rebuilt, and it ran fine after that.

Any ideas? I have the main breaker shut off right now to try and let it reset.

I’m not a mechanic but every one here says try the parking brake. The switches are notorious for being out of alignment. If that doesn’t work I hope that someone that really knows something will answer . Good luck. Barry, Chico, Ca

Just checked the parking brake switch, well it was out of alignment but that doesn’t seem to be the issue. Still the same blinking icons in the display.

I know you already turned off the main switch but I would try cycling the switch on and off several times. I would do the same with the ignition switch. It was working until you shut off. So, maybe it’s the ignition switch. Wiggle it. Everybody is always wanting to replace the ignition switch on the early models.

Thanks Barry,

It is odd to me as I don’t hear the contactor coming on when turning the ignition on. The display comes on (with blinking indicators as above) but no familiar “click” at all.

I jiggled the innition around, no change. Just tried flipping it off and on a bunch, and no change.

Was also talking with the gentleman from ride 4 fun and he said that he feels it could either be the PSDM, or the controller. He said to check for 72v at the controller with the ignition on, and if I am getting that to send the controller back to him for a warranty repair.