What if? I wanted to use a laptop

Hello i am brand new to EV’s and have some concepts i would like to talk about.
I was wondering what it would take to add a laptop as a controller?.? Is it possible. How much of the electrical process can be run from the lappy? Is there a company out there doing this already?

I know that this is a bit odd but I was looking for a way to streamline the process. I also want the ability to race the car a little bit. i would like to be able to win a light to light race against and ICE. I have a plentiful supply of lappies laying around and wanted to use that to my advantage.

I hope this makes sense.

you SHOULDN’T use the laptop as the controller, but you could “control” the controller via a laptop (i.e. provide analog and digital outputs to control the throttle pot, keyswitch input, fwd/rev inputs, etc). I’d recomend keeping the controller system as its supposed to be, for safety reasons, as well as functionality reasons.

I would not recomend using the laptop to gate the FETS in a controller or to be the “brains”, as its VERY important for timing of the gating. If you use a laptop, there’s no guarantee that the processes will actually process. Also, what if it locks up? reboots? crashes? what “mode” will the controller stay in?

You COULD use it to monitor, depending on what controller you use, or if you have an analog and digital input card for it to monitor currents, voltages, throttle input, etc.

Ok so what if i decided to use a live operating system. Like a knoppix from linux. It should provide a stable platform. I understand what you mean about the lappy freezing up or decides to reboot, thats why I am suggesting a live operating sys. Im not implying anything against you just questioning what the threshold is for this. Actually thank you for being concise. I appreciate that.

you really want a dedicated microcontroller

how are you going to communicate to the FET’s?