Total Newb

My parents have a place at the beach and I want them to buy one of these vehicles. I don’t know anything about so I joined the forum. I want to get one as cheap as possible. This will only be used at the beach where the speed limit is 35 on the island. Would like to get a 4 seat vehicle as well. :smiley:

Living in the beach area and driving on the beach are 2 different animals. To drive on the beach requires some upgrading to handle the soft surfaces. “Cheap as possible” is an oxymoron when it comes to these vehicles because, in reality, they are very enjoyable TOYS. However: they are toys that the entire family can enjoy individually or together. If you don’t buy a 4 passenger unit upfront, within 2 years YOU WILL. 4 passenger units hold their value MUCH better than 2.

To get you started I would suggest you look into the CLUB CAR NEV version of their 2 seat golf cart with the added 2 rear seats. This is going to be about as “cheap” as you can get in a NEW street legal NEV. They are aluminum framed and as trouble free as any. Stay away from steel framed units in beach areas. Front wheel drive cars in the sand are iffy.

Keep us upto date.

BTW Welcome to the family!!!

Thank you for the quick response. Carts are not allowed on the beach, so I hope I answered that question there. Should this post be moved if I put it in the wrong category? I agree with you on the 4 seats. I guess I don’t know much about the diff. between a Club Car NEV and a GEM per se. I don’t want to assume anything.

The GEM is a unique vehicle. Much of its apeal is due to appearance. It’s different and stands out in a crowd of Golf Carts. Many owners (myself included) like that. We PAY extra for that though.

Okay it’s the Lexus of SLV. I am looking to purchase more of the Toyota Camry. LOL

Just want something affordable that will serve it’s purpose. I started digging around last night and do all of these CLUB CARS go under 35 MPH? I saw where some of them only went 15 and 25 MPH