Home-made motor controller question

Hello:
Is anyone building their own motor controllers? I am not able to find much art on the subject and am simply curious. What is it about the commercial units that make them so expensive? Technology or volume?
I am curious because it seems so simple to connect the batteries to the motor using a PWM circuit and the proper FET’s.
Thanks for any insight.

Ty

Some people are.
http://www.diyelectriccar.com/forums/
the technical forum has two long threads on PWM controllers.

I am a novice at ac systems, but even to me it does not look too bad.

sure, at low voltages and currents Its just a fet with a PWM signal… but that all goes out the window when you start introducing more than 1 Fet and making sure you drive them all at the same time (copper path to each fet is roughly the same inpedance). Also, as you add FETs, you increase current, and the eddie currents and transients (from turning the fet on and off at high currents) cause spikes in the circuit…

It is simple for low V/A but it gets tricky when you try and get higher than 60V and higher than 100A. They’re expensive due to packaging, quality of parts (so they all gate at the same time), voltage level of parts (some FETs in there are 200V parts), the quantity of parts (to get the currents you need), the FET driver, programming of the microcontroller to handle battery current/voltage and motor current/voltage, intarface (Rs232/USB etc), bussbar, the development of the board so you reduce ringing and shield the parts to reduce the EMI… etc…etc…etc.

There is a post in the conversions and diy about it. If you look you can find a lot of information about it. It just depends on how quick and dirty you want to go.