Newbie with questions

Hi all…

I am new to the idea of building an ev and am therefore over run with questions.

I am a fabricator/mechanic, but don’t know enough about DC to get this thing plan going.

My first question…is it better to have a high amp/low voltage battery, or high voltage/low amp pack?

it seems to mee that you would be better off with shitpot full of voltage that you could then step down. there would be a loss, but wouldn’t you be able to make use of the bottom half of your charge if you did so?

secondly…why DC rather than AC

I’ll tackle this one a little… First off, what kind of vehicle? I am converting a bike.

Well. The voltage current thing depends on what you want really. Its not whats better, its what is most efficient. If you want to have 144V, you need 12 12V batteries. If you have 18Ah 12V bats, and they’re 13lbs (like I do), then its a 156lb 144V 18Ah pack… and you can run smaller wire (lower current, higher voltage, less loss).

If you have a lower voltage pack, say, 72, with 6 50Ah batteries, it might be 300lbs., you will get more current, but the current carry capacity of the motor and wire will need to be greater. PLus the added weight.

Higher voltage sometimes means higher cost components for the controller and motor. Lower voltage is often cheaper. Cost is another concern.

So, depending on the controller, you can actually PWM a 144V pack to 72V and get more current output…

STart looking at prices of controllers… they start increasing in price a TON after 72V.

as far as reasons for AC vs DC, COST COST COST. AC is expensive because it requires more components on the controller and more brains. the motors can be cheaper than DC. AC requires less maintenance, while DC has more (because of brushes). AC has regen, DC you need a special controller. AC has 3 wire for carrying current, DC has 2 and may require higher gauge wire.