Grinding noise when accelerating

Hi there, I just picked up a 2002 Gem and after driving it for a few days it all of the sudden developed a grinding noise when I accelerate. It happened while out and about and rather than cause further damage I had it towed back to my house. I lifted the front wheels off the ground and they turn freely with no noise but as soon as i press on the accelerator it makes a noise that I initially thought was a CV joint but like I said when I manually turn the front wheels it doesn’t make the noise. Could it be the differential? Bearing in motor? I’m fairly new to the Gem world but pretty good with taking things apart just looking for some suggestions where to start.Thanks in advance

So I tore it down and noise definitely coming from the Bone Dry Differential. Had the car for about to weeks and this is the one thing I didnt think to check. More worried about batteries and electronics and forgot to check the basics. I added gear lube and noise did not get any better. New gears? New diff?

I’m learning more and more every minute. Turns out the drain bolt that I assumed was the drain ( Being in the location that I would look for a drain on a diff) turned out to not be the drain. I learned the the oil fill and drain are the same so the diff did have oil in it. Next culprit could be the motor. Pulled it and when I manually turn the inner spline on motor its not too smooth so I figure its a bearing or somethin internal in the motor which is definitely not in my wheel house of fixing. I talked to Marlon way back when prior to buying a GEM so I have a text off to him top get his opinion. The gear box turns smoothly without any noise manually with tires off ground. Any suggestions for rebuild(if available) VS. new 7.5 Motor?