2002 Gem died, Bad Motor?

I have on 02 Gem 4 seater I have been upgrading for a couple years now. New gel batteries, ball joints, disc brakes, 14 inch wheels, got the recall done on the converter.
Today a friend was driving it and it died. I went to help push it back and noticed a strong burning smell from the front end, also noticed it was not wanting to roll unless I had my foot on the accelerator. I also noticed a drop of oil near where the motor meets the gear box. I charged it to 100% pushed the pedal and get a strange screeching/whining sound and no movement. What do you think?

Sounds like your motor got Warsaw Packed.

Any error codes?
Tough to push is not good for controller, batteries(range) and motor.

Lack of propulsion sounds like brushes. When was the last time you had your motor serviced? Check for voltage on the A1 and A2 wires when pedal is pressed down.

No error codes. I haven’t serviced the motor since I’ve owned it about 3 years.
Went to check voltage this morning and it’s working. Jacked it up and spun the wheels and sounds like the brakes are dragging. I pressed the brake pedal and the brakes did not release. I pulled up on the pedal and it released but still dragging. I’m going to remove the lower dash to check for anything obvious, but if you guys have any ideas? Bad master cylinder?

00-04 cars (maybe even 05) had an issue with the brake pedal sagging and not fully coming up. Depending on how this is adjusted it may not be releasing pressure. The factory eventually figured this out and installed a spring to help out. It may not be your solution, but it is a place to start. For now, rig up bungee to pull up on the pedal. At least your brake lights will go off as they should.

But yeah, brakes sometimes always drag a little. At least you should pull off your drums to see what is going on in there. There may be just a bunch of dust hanging things up, or maybe your pad linings have come off your shoes and causing havoc.