New Owner - Lots of Questions Coming

I’m not very good at keeping long stories short, but I’ll try. My neighbor runs a paper products company. One of his customers runs a janitorial service and had several GEMs that they used to service a local university. My neighbor somehow ended up with one of them a few years back, replaced the batteries and played with it a bit. Once the novelty wore off, he gave it to a friend to use on his farm.

Fast forward to a week ago, I mentioned to him that I was looking for one and he says that the friend had some problems with the GEM and would gladly part with it. Last night, this ended up at my door:

IMG_6564
IMG_6567
IMG_6568

I rolled it into the shop this morning and got my first good look. It has four Gp 31 AGM batteries - the two front batteries are missing. For some inexplicable reason, when this person had problems with the GEM, he started disassembling it. Fortunately, it doesn’t look like any wires have been cut. I just need to figure out where everything goes.

This should be a fun project. I live in a small town outside of Atlanta and this will be perfect for short trips running errands.

Patrick

They all start this way in the beginning.
Hopefully you got all the pieces. It looks like you got most of them.

Include a few more pics of the hardware on the dash. I think I see you at least have the DC Converter wiring update.

Welcome to the forum! I’m fairly new as well and the folks here have been a great help in my learning and troubleshooting.

I’ll offer a few questions/ideas:

1. As stated above a few more pictures would be helpful.

2. Year of Gem?

3. Looks like you may have the US batteries which are good. Can you see a date stamp on them to see how old they are? Check and fill will distilled water.

4. Maybe start looking for other 2 batteries to replace so you are not buying a full set if the others are salvageable.