EV conversion using wheel motors

Hi,
I’m in 2nd year of “gymnase” (highschool equivalent I think) in Switzerland, so I have to make a personal project. I’m planning on converting my own EV, but I need a little help…
Basically, rather than doing the usual motor replacement, I’ll be using in-wheel (hub) motors (2 of them), simply because I won’t need a gearbox, transmission etc, which means less energy loss, and less weight (in my wallet too ^^), plus I can use the freed space for the batteries, rather than waste trunk space.
So far I’ve found (the only?) three wheel motors manufacturers…
[ul]
[li]PML : they make a very powerful motor (the hi-pa drive), and have made their own conversion to showcase it. It’s actually a hybrid (with a go-cart engine used as a generator). It’s a 4-wheel drive mini, does 0-100kph in 4.5s, has a top speed of 240kph, and over 640bhp. Problem is, the motors haven’t entered production yet, so they cost £9k apiece, plus £4k for a 2-wheel controller…Let’s say it’s a little over budget :wink:
[/li][li]TM4 also make “just” one motor, and have no real pictures or applications, so I suppose they haven’t entered production either…But the big advantage of these is the mechanical brakes (which are the minimum requirement if I hope to make the car street-legal)
[/li][li]the last one I found is e-traction. Their “TheWheel” looks very promising, and they’ve already made quite a few EVs (not hybrids) with them (plus they’re based in Europe, so that means less shipping fees if I get those).
[/li][/ul]

Anywho, does anyone know anything about these (or just wheelmotors in general)?