Converting HEV to PHEV

I am new to any electric vehicle, but I am eager to learn. So far, instead of waiting for manufacturers to produce an electric car to perform as good as our gas vehicles, I am thinking about converting a Toyota hybrid prius to a plug-in that will drive by electric only on the streets for 50 miles and use gas only above 50 miles and on the highway. From what I have read, this is workable. Any suggestions or thoughts? ggmoelle

This has been done before but for right now it pretty expensive considering you have to add more batteries and a computer controller. Though there is a company coming out with a product to do this. There website is edrive systems. They replace the stock battery to a lithium-ion battery system that works 15-20 times better.

I have also heard about DIYs doing it with US models since they discovered the europe prius has a switch or something to make it run 100% electric. So you can add this feature via hacking to a US toyota prius. This button switches the prius into full electric for driving locally at low speeds. Europe Prius Picture below.

Toyata Claims this feature was omitted or disabled because US law requires a warranty on hybrid drivetrains that include the battery pack. bla bla bla.

The Prius computer has already been hacked to enable this mission feature by a few smart owners.

The EDrive system web site is talking about $12,ooo.oo to convert to PHEV from HEV. That is too much money; General Motors found that out when the EV1 was thought to go for $10,000.00 more than for an equivalent vehicle. I think that the workable solution is for the do-it-yourself person to buy the Lithium batteries and control for about $3,000.00, install it,and drive their PHEV with signs that says that your car gets 100 to 200 miles per gallon and be willing to prove it. With gas prices so high, I think many people would buy such a car. If big car manufacturers would see a lot of interest,they would respond. ggmoelle