Charger profile for "Starting Line" batteries? Duracell?

I started this in the “welcome” thread, but it needs it’s own topic I think, so people can see it. I’m totally new to GEM and this forum. I’ve been reading threads here for hours now, and honestly it’s a little intimidating. You people are really, really smart! Anyway, I got a 2013 GEM utility truck damn cheap, it came with 2-year old “The Starting Line” batteries, which, when you do a search on the model numbers, come up as the same thing as Duracell deep cycle. I have a vague history of this truck, but I don’t know what batteries it came with originally, and when they were changed (it happened twice - that I know) I’m very sure nobody knew anything about changing the charging profile. I’m guessing “Starting Line” was a generic sold by Sam’s Club or something, and they probably ARE Duracells, which I’ve heard are not terrible. I’d like to salvage these batteries for a while before doing a Lithium conversion. I did that with a RoyPow pack on my EZGO golf cart and it went really well - that’s the long term on this thing. But reading the threads - wow, you almost have to have a degree in electrical engineering to understand you guys! So, for now, help with the profile? I’m getting about 8 miles (with really good performance) and then the dreaded flashing turtle, but SOC says 54% still. This is frustrating, I’m sure you can relate. Help?

Welcome to the group. Don’t be afraid to ask Questions.

Here is where I would go.

• Identify what profile you are running on the charger.
  • find out what profiles are loaded in your charger.
  • If needed, change to a more suitable profile(hopefully after two years the pack is not cooked)
  • charge the pack.
  • note the charged up “Hot” voltage, and then wait a while and then again the finished “resting” voltage of each battery. (I find it helps if I draw a layout picture and note the readings by each battery).