Battery Life

I’m really new to EV cars. I am seriously considering purchasing one for my next vehicle. My biggest concern is battery life. Is there a general rule for how long most battery’s will last? On top of that is there a general rule for cost replacement to new batterys? Thanks

IF GIVEN PROPER CARE: Flooded Lead Acid 3 to 5 years AGM 5+ years GEL 6 to 9 years. Cost is prgressive starting with Lead Acid. A minimum configuration 12 volt starts at about a hundred bucks. This is a 3 year battery.

In batteries you usually get what you pay for. You can ruin a set of batteries in a year with poor maintance and bad charging practices. Lead acid seem to be able to take the most abuse.

[quote=OLD HOUSEBOATER;23352]IF GIVEN PROPER CARE: Flooded Lead Acid 3 to 5 years AGM 5+ years GEL 6 to 9 years. Cost is prgressive starting with Lead Acid. A minimum configuration 12 volt starts at about a hundred bucks. This is a 3 year battery.

In batteries you usually get what you pay for. You can ruin a set of batteries in a year with poor maintance and bad charging practices. Lead acid seem to be able to take the most abuse.[/quote]

Hey Rodney - speaking of opinions (that other thread) I would like to think that you have some good ones from experience with these batteries.

Seems that the charging habit is the most important factor in the life. But what about the environment? I live in Ohio. And the weather is pretty nuts. We don’t really have seasons that adhere to any sort of schedule. A few days ago it was -5 below 0. It will be back to 40 this week. And I bet we will see spring before long. Would it be worth the extra dough for a guy like me to buy the gel type? Or would you be better off re-buying cheaper batteries every 3 years?

Also - any preferred brand? This reminds me of another question I would like to ask, but I will withhold that one for now so I don’t completely derail this man’s thread!