Please tell me there are better batteries

I’m new to this and I’m starting from the bottom so I don’t know all that much about EV’s .
Thats why I’m here , to learn whatever I can from you fine gentlemen. The thing that gets me is cruising ranges of like 50 miles per charge. There must be batteries that can exceed that. Am I missing something ?

Jerry

Good news.There are good batteries
Bad news. You would never save enough on gas to pay for them.

A good set of lithium Ion batteries cost from $8000.00 and up

[QUOTE=VWBeamer;3628]
Bad news. You would never save enough on gas to pay for them.

[/QUOTE]

you sure about that?

EV’s are less maintenance, so you won’t be doing like 3-400 bucks of oil changes, tuneups, Emissions testing every year. I spend about 3-3500 in gas a year, 2-250 a month, plus some road trips. Add in electricity being less than 10cents a kwh, and a typical pack for a car being 10,000 or more, thats a buck per total charge, so, maybe like $400 a year?

So it’d take me 2.5 years to break even and only pay for electricity to drive… compared to that $3k in gas a year? Lead acid breaks even sooner, but over 10 years, you’ll have to replace 3 packs, compared to MAYBE 1 with lifepo (yet to be proven).

To the OP, look at the tesla! 56kwh, 240miles/charge and over 200hp and an impressive 0-60. Of course its $100,000.

Just ask yourself, are you buying this for commuting, or for leisure? Get the care you really want for leisure, get an electric for commuting 40-60 miles a day. If you’ve got a ton of cash, get lifepo and be done with it.