2006 el Park Ranger needs lithium infusion

Retired Arizona Park Ranger cart joining the flock. I’m total newb to these, but an very mechanically inclined.

My cart is loaded with 6 Deka AGM batteries (it got the factory upgrade kit?) producing a whopping 1 volt, sad to say. I have not yet had this cart under power- need to ask: what is minimum voltage to just get the system to display odometer, etc? Bench supply gives 40 volts.

Looks to be a T4 running a 5HP GE, based on my reading. Has disc brakes in front.

My goal is just around the neighborhood, so not long range- 20 miles? Moderate hills. Hope to enbiggen the wheels to 16" from the 12’s once running good. 35mph would be ideal.

Thank you for any insight, suggestions. I’d like to do as much of the lithium pack building myself as I can: trying to teach mechanic-student daughter to not be intimidated by electric vehicles while knowing little myself…

First, I would measure V on each battery. You should have better than 11.2 on every battery. If not, take a car charger and boost up each one. Then locate the ends of the chain and hopefully you have better than 68V otherwise the onboard charger will not recognize the pack.

If all you get is 1v I would not hold out much hope of this pack getting you 20 miles.
Look for a round sticker on the top of each one of the batteries that has a letter and a number. It might give a clue to how old they are.

Find the status panel on the side of the charger. When plugged in it will have at least one yellow light at the AC Input light. If charging a light will be dancing around the charge rate lights. If it has a problem it will blink a code on the red light.

Report back on progress and we can go to Phase 2.
Also- look on the label above the driver’s head and find the build date of this car. I’m guessing it may be 2006 or better?

The upgraded factory battery setup back then was nine 8v batteries. Six 12v is the norm. IIRC the minimum for what you are after is around 65v.