05' Gem Car loses Speed quickly

Hello all, I’m new to the forum here and a first time owner of a Gem Car.

I just bought a Gem Car EL and replaced the batteries today. Ran it up the road and could only go 18 mph. The batteries are fully charged. It takes about 5-10 min and eventually loses all speed and will not go. Indicator shows full batteries.

Any ideas? Motor? Controller?

I’m very new to these and I’m learning as I go.

Thanks for suggestions.

Were the batteries new or reconditioned? You replaced all six correct? I would start by checking your batteries with a hydrometer and a digital meter to verify the batteries are in good shape.

[QUOTE=LuvMyTJ;12667]Were the batteries new or reconditioned? You replaced all six correct? I would start by checking your batteries with a hydrometer and a digital meter to verify the batteries are in good shape.

Yes I replaced all six and I bought new ones from a local battery shop. They tested them all right in front of me before I bought them.

By the way. They sold me the group 31 type battery.

Were you sure the old batteries are bad before replacement? Your GEM has the first year of that POS Chinese battery charger. Our 2005 only lasted about four years. Are any error codes or flashing lamps displayed on the dash. Any continuous beeping sounds? Try charging each battery one hour each with a portable charger and then plug in the on board charger. See if the battery voltage begins to rise after plugging in the on board charger.

Daniel

[QUOTE=GEMmechanic;12670]Were you sure the old batteries are bad before replacement? What year do you have? Are any error codes or flashing lamps displayed on the dash. Any continuous beeping sounds? Try charging each battery one hour each with a portable charger and then plug in the on board charger. See if the battery voltage begins to rise after plugging in the on board charger.

Daniel[/QUOTE]
Old batteries were bad.
2005 gem truck el
No error codes or beeping sounds.