Yes... another idea

So I’m new to this. I’m currently in Iraq earning some extra cash to catch up for all of the irresponsible spending I did in my 20’s. I’m not really banking like some stories you hear, but it’s enough to make me happy. But with some of this extra cash, I’d like to convert to an electric vehicle and I would like to share my idea so that way experienced others can come crashing down on it like a load of bricks.

Most coversions, people are trying to do on the cheap and I understand. For mine, I’m willing to spend a little more than normal but still try to get some bang for my buck. Here goes:

Use a small Toyota extra cab pickup maybe mid 90’s.

I would prefer a truck since I feel the frame is a little easier to work with to hold the extra weight of batteries, but still not a bohemouth frame for the motor to lug around. I also like the idea of the RWD which you’ll see in a minute. Plenty of room for batteries up front also with the RWD platform.

VW style trans: Sand rail spec

This style trans is lightweight, and easy to convert. I understand I’ll have to modify the rear suspension for trailing arms etc etc. Not a problem for me, I enjoy modifying and building. This transmission can be easily built up with a variety of gears (V8 sandrails, turbo’d flat fours…), EV swap parts are relativly easy to comeby, the case is light and ditching the whole toyota driveline saves space and weight. The shifter would be a basic rod that runs to the back like a regular air cooled bug. The electric motor would hang off the back. Even if I need to add a brace to the motor, there’s enought frame rail leftover to do that. And as for cost, from what I’ve seen, under $2k should easlily get me what I want, if not actually for less dough.

Motor controller combo: