The first step is always the hardest

Hello folks. I am a machinist from Texas and lover of electric vehicles. I am currently in r&d phase for manufacturing an ev. I have tons of mechanical experience and am researching the electrical aspects of a fully electric vehicle. I am looking to start a full sized project vehicle sometime in the next year. I hope to learn lots here as well as help where needed.

cool, any pics or info on it?

Everything that I’ve done so far has been on a small scale, testing controller ideas and regeneration with miniature motors and home made stepper controllers. The hold up for me is that I want to make a very efficient “back up” generator that can help me out if the range isn’t what I am planning. I’ve got a prototype generator built in CAD but we just had a new baby so the part isn’t made yet. As soon as I can get it made, I’ll be more than happy to post pictures of everything.

I was browsing through and saw the Saturn conversion series and really liked watching the conversion take place in pictures. I think documenting your progress really shows how easy it can be to do one of these yourself and really have high hopes that others will see that and follow suit.

let me know if you need anything in CAD i am profecient in 2D and 3D.

Thanks. I’m also a CAD/CAM programmer plus having a machine shop at my disposal should make this whole project go much easier. lol.

What programs do you use?

[QUOTE=hobbes28;1299]Thanks. I’m also a CAD/CAM programmer plus having a machine shop at my disposal should make this whole project go much easier. lol.

What programs do you use?[/QUOTE]

AutoCAD

lucky that you have a machine shop! i REALLY want a C&C (computerized) one SO bad but i cant see spending 20K+ on a personal basis/ only have a 3 car garage so i dont really have the room

Link.