NEWBIE ALERT! Looking for some help finding a E4

Hi everyone - I am hoping I am in the right place to get some insight. I’ve been thinking about purchasing a 4 passenger used GEM and am ready to get serious. I live in SE Wisconsin, and have just started looking at eBay, Craigslist etc.

I have seen other posts with people weighing in on if a sale is a “good deal” or not, but I was wondering if anyone has suggestions on where is the best place to look to buy a used one?

Thanks in advance. I hope you’re having a good day!

Alex

Craig’s list is a good place.

2nd on Craig’s List but it depends on how far you’re willing to travel for one or have it shipped. I can confirm a 2013 E6 will fit on a U-Haul Auto Transport trailer. It’s tight but it trailered it fine. Craig’s List is a good way to stay local. I’ve read of people getting good deals at auctions but I have no experience with that.

What U haul trailer will fit a E6?

A stock 2013 E6 short bed w/ factory 195/60R14 tires will fit on the U-Haul “Auto Transport” trailer (info here). There will be about an inch to spare on either side of the gap between the wheels and the bed of the car will extend beyond the end of the trailer. When renting the trailer tell them you’re towing a white 2010 Honda Civic (or similar) to avoid yourself a headache and/or possible denial of the rental. Add a half dozen ratchet straps and you’re good to go.

IMG_7460%20(1)

PSA: Pay attention to the windows on the GEM when towing. Always tow a GEM facing forwards and consider removing the rear window if applicable. They can/will blow out at highway speeds if you’re not careful.

I also removed the bottom cushion from the bench seat in my elxd when I had to have a flatbed tow truck move it as I’ve read stores of them going flying too.