New With Questions

I am new here. I am looking for specific information for my plan. I have some basic knowledge of a conversion from hours and hours of searching for what I am looking for. I have been scouring the internet to find a motor similar to what Tesla uses. 295 lbs-ft of torque and 288 horsepower and weighs 70 lbs. I have contacted a several companies companies directly. most won’t reply. The one that did called me and they tell me a motor like that would be the size of a minivan. But they dont know what they are using in cars and they sell motors for industrial purposes only.

I think I have found a good source of help. I am writing because I need to go to bed shortly. I see people converting vehicles to electric and sites selling parts. The problem is they all list motors with less power and are disappointed in the results on the highway. I think this will be a helpful site if I scour the forums. Like I said I am going to bed but at least I am happy to find a place that could be very helpful.

Any ideas where I can find a motor like tesla uses? It doesnt have to be that powerful. 50HP is not what I am looking for. Once I find a proper motor I will then be able to design everything else around it.

[QUOTE=hazz;9004]I am new here. I am looking for specific information for my plan. I have some basic knowledge of a conversion from hours and hours of searching for what I am looking for. I have been scouring the internet to find a motor similar to what Tesla uses. 295 lbs-ft of torque and 288 horsepower and weighs 70 lbs. I have contacted a several companies companies directly. most won’t reply. The one that did called me and they tell me a motor like that would be the size of a minivan. But they dont know what they are using in cars and they sell motors for industrial purposes only.