Motor ratings

• quick version* Looking at ac motor ratings, i’ve found a few nice ones with continuous use ratings, but some have" compressor use" written on them as well, now would this be opposed to a true continuous use motor- unsuitable for an ev?

I’m building an electric bike, and just scanning through components to see if i want AC or DC at the moment. i live in vancouver, so my options kind of suck. I have access to dc controllers and batteries up the wazoo, but no DC motors over 1hp. at the same time i’m a hydraulic technician and have access to loads of ac AC motors going on hundreds of hp, but no AC controllers or reliable inversion methods on a suitable scale…

any advice?

[QUOTE=rangerx52;251]* quick version* Looking at ac motor ratings, i’ve found a few nice ones with continuous use ratings, but some have" compressor use" written on them as well, now would this be opposed to a true continuous use motor- unsuitable for an ev?

I’m building an electric bike, and just scanning through components to see if i want AC or DC at the moment. i live in vancouver, so my options kind of suck. I have access to dc controllers and batteries up the wazoo, but no DC motors over 1hp. at the same time i’m a hydraulic technician and have access to loads of ac AC motors going on hundreds of hp, but no AC controllers or reliable inversion methods on a suitable scale…

any advice?[/QUOTE]

ebay :smiley: totally serious. just shop arround on there and you are sure to find something in due time

So can you hook me up with a 200 or 300 hp AC? How much? I’m talking to a guy about getting a controller built to handle 2000 amps and around 250 watts.

Cheers.

Do you mean an ac motor to replace an ICE of 200-300 hp or an ac motor of 200-300 hp?

[QUOTE=inSANe DIEGO;254]So can you hook me up with a 200 or 300 hp AC? How much? I’m talking to a guy about getting a controller built to handle 2000 amps and around 250 watts.

Cheers.[/QUOTE]