Dc motor

what would be the best dc motor to use for a conversion? the car weighs a little over 2000 plbs. a model number for the motor would be nice, but any info is helpful. thanx!

well, we can’t really chose one for you, its not that easy.

You need to let us know what type of car, (you mentioned weight), acceleration needed, speed needed, is it going on highway? range? etc.

Do you need regen braking? are you looking for low cost?

don’t need regenerative braking, it will be going on the highway so it needs to go at least 70 (since it will be hooked up to my 5 speed i don’t think top speed will be a problem), i’m looking for decent acceleration; lets say 0-60 in at least 8 seconds, range doesn’t really matter, and the car is a 1977 toyota celica. that’s pretty much what i’m looking for, any motor that can produce close to these results is fine…since i’m new to the whole ev thing i’m not sure what to look for in a motor. thank you!

[QUOTE=csablack1;4615]don’t need regenerative braking, it will be going on the highway so it needs to go at least 70 (since it will be hooked up to my 5 speed i don’t think top speed will be a problem), i’m looking for decent acceleration; lets say 0-60 in at least 8 seconds, range doesn’t really matter, and the car is a 1977 toyota celica. that’s pretty much what i’m looking for, any motor that can produce close to these results is fine…since i’m new to the whole ev thing i’m not sure what to look for in a motor. thank you![/QUOTE]

I’d say a bat pack running over 144V with a 144-156V controller, 600+ amps, with a 10" motor from Netgain (Warp 10 or higher).

We’ve got a 156V 600Amp+ controller, USB programmable, has contactor drivers for forward/reverse/main. That would match well with a netgain motor of similar specs. 600A is not continuous, but the requirement you have of 0-60 in 8 seconds, you’d need a decent motor to push a 2000lb car full of lead to 60mph in 8 seconds.