I've been doing my research, and I've got some questions

I’ve been reading for about six months, and I have to admit, while I’m informed, I still am blurred in some areas. I’ve been casually reading for about a year, but having just secured my rolling chassis I’m getting more focused on getting educated and getting parts bought.

First my background is professional fabrication. I make custom forced induction setups, do engine management tuning, and have been doing professional chassis prep for years. I also have some background in electronics fabrication. This project is something I just wanted to take on for personal use, and to free myself in the event of a fuel crisis or a spike in oil prices again. Having been through Katrina…getting stuck with no gas pumps was an experience to behold in person…it was downright scary.

Anyway, so on to my goals for the vehicle and to my questions. I’m very realistic with the goals and I’m also trying to conform to a certain budget.

The goals:

I need 30 miles range…this area is hilly but hills go up and down.
I want to keep the budget under 5000.00 (this will lead to my questions)
I want to use a quality motor that has an adapter kit available

The questions:

Having spoken about my budget goals as well as wanting certain quality in the motor, I know some corners will need to be cut. I am willing to cut those corners, and expand later.

My questions are, how can I conform to this budget. I’ve looked at home made controllers, so that’s an option. I’ve also looked at avoiding a dc to dc converter to run the 12v systems by possible running an alternator and a seperate battery for that system. Corners can always be cut…they just have to be the right ones.