High Performance Electric Sandrail

Hello EV enthusiasts, I am very new to the EV world and have many questions at the inception of my latest project - an electric sandrail or dune buggy.

Background:
I just finished building my first sandrail from scratch last year and am dissapointed at the performance vs cost. $13,000 and 500 manhours produced a very nice but mild manner 1750 lb family sandrail with 110 hp and 13 inches of travel but now I want more and I think a hybrid rail may be the answer.

The two most important attributes of a high performance sandrail are suspension travel and power to weight ratios. There are lots of problems attaining both of these with reliability required in offroad environments. You already know the benefits of electric power and it’s related torque curves but it will also allow us to eliminate the two of the weekest links on any sandrail, the transaxle and the CV Joints/axles. Transaxles alone usually cost any where from $6K to $12K and the axle angularity is your limiting factor for rear suspenion travel so lets get rid of both of them!

Overall Concept goals:

1. Retro Fit my full size sandrail by pulling out the Toyota 22R motor, VW Transaxle, CV joints/axles, large radiator and fuel tank and replace them with one electric motor at each rear wheel, a battery pack and a gasoline powered onboard generator.

Constraints and Assumptions:

• GVW not to exceed 2000 lbs
  • Batteries+ 2 motors+ one generator must weigh equal to or less than 700lbs
  • two electric motors, one for each rear wheel allowing for max suspension travel
  • combined torque and power performance similar to Tesla EV sports car (248hp peak (185kW)
  • Small onboard gasoline engine to keep the batteries charged.
  • Fuel consumption of the generator should be assumed as unconstrained. In other words, I will put what ever size generator and fuel tank as required to meet the electric motor power consuption.