EV Garden Tractor

I have a 30 year old John Deere garden tractor that I no longer use and having always been a tinkerer and never one to through anything away have been thinking of converting it to an electric tractor. I am new to the electric part but do a lot of welding and machine work so I’m asking for help in starting this project. I do not intedn to mow grass or heavy pulling but rather just to ride around my 4 acres and have the satisfaction of doing a conversion. I will drive the original transmission probably with a chain drive and use the transmission only to have a varity of speeds.
My first questions would be what motor and where to get one. I am retired and on a fixed income so don’t have a fortune to spend.
Any feedback or advice would be appreciated. Thanks Len

Len, You are in luck, as this is one of the easiest, and cheapest conversions to do. You can use parts from an old fork lift, powered pallet jack, and other equipment. I would recommend check out austin EV http://www.austinev.org/evalbum/type There are several items just like you are describing, and due to the generally low speed involved, you can do lots of work, such as mowing, and towing. One other thing is to check out project Forkenswift.http://www.forkenswift.com/ This is a car conversion, but using an old fork lift for the motor, and controller. He build the whole thing for a few hundred dollars. hope this helps, Eric

I just got a brush type motor and the plate on the side says 26 volts. It moves my tractor but I would like to increase the speed. I have done this for a short time by adding one more 12 volt battery to the 2 I have wired and it does the job but will I harm the motor?
Len

Len, As I understand it, going up a bit in volts wont hurt things. For the most part heat build up is quicker, so pulling a load for a long time, while using more amps, and volts than the motor was designed for will have a negative effect, but only while exceeding the motors ratings.