EV disappointment

I was all gung-ho to do an EV conversion, as I’m not thrilled with my Prius’ mileage on short rural trips, but I now see that there isn’t much to be gained.

Until an EV is efficient enough to do better than 3mi/kw (or so), my Prius, even at only 45mpg, is cheaper to operate. And from an environmental viewpoint, relocating the CO2 emissions from my tailpipe to a power plant is a marginal improvement, especially if the power plant is coal fired.

Although I’m not very experienced in the EV conversion business, a “cheap” DC motor conversion isn’t going to meet the 3m/kw figure. I think the EV-1 met the number (by a factor of two) but that was pretty sophisticated equipment.

I hope someone can convince me otherwise!

there’s plenty of people out there that get closer to 200Wh/mile…with small cars. Motorcycles are even better (closer to 100wh/mile)… so that’d be 5m/kwh

(wh per mile or wh/mile is the standard unit for most ev’s)

I don’t see how its cheaper to operate your prius… sure, a conversion has high up front costs, but when you factor in batteries and energy to charge it for 2-3 years that the batteries last, you’ll spend MUCH less on energy than you would on gas. You can’t count the cost for conversion/controller/etc… you pay to have an electric car. What you need to look at is recurring costs only, not the sunken cost.

Plus, the scrubbers and cleaning that energy generation plans do at their smokestacks is MUCH CLEANER than what we put out of our car. They have to reduce NOx, SOx, COx etc to levels outlined by EPA… its strictly controlled. Our tailpipes are not well controlled and spit out MUCH more. PLUS if you live in an area like me that has lots of greener energy (wind, water) then its much cleaner to drive. Sounds like you need to do some research… just because a plant may be coal fired, doesn’t mean its that dirty… its cleaner than an automobile.

I guess I’m confused.

On the recurring cost side,