Electrical Burning Smell Gem 2002 4 seater

Our Gen has an electrical smell and the black wire from the Zivan charger is not connected to anything. Related issues? Where does the black wire (a black and a white wire come out the top of the charger) connect to? It looks like it got pulled off somewhere. Does anyone know where it connects?

@Jroden Nice photos!

I also have a 2002 GEM four seater e835. I am very new to GEM cars but think I can provide some information about the black cable that looks disconnected. I believe it is a temperature probe that is situated near the batteries up front, under the hood. I’m not sure if it has a specific place, or just lies next to the batteries. If you are not getting a flashing charging diode and audible signal, or an error code on the BDI I’d guess it is ok.

Burning smell? You seem to have upgraded to Gel Batteries. So the charger dial should be set to “C” for gel and not “F” for flooded deep cycle. Is the fan working?

Full disclosure: I still do not have my internal charger working. My original (without a dial) did nothing when the car was plugged in. I borrowed one from a neighbor from a parts car. He had the dial set on “C” but I changed it to “F” because I have flooded deep cycle batteries. I get yellow and green battery diodes flashing and an audible alarm. This car was left sitting for about 5 years. I assumed the batteries would be shot but if I charge them one at a time with a car charger they actually seem to hold a charge for quite a while.

Well, I hope you have better luck!

I have a manual for 99-04 GEMS.
Its the repair manual with all the wiring diagrams.
If you need it let know. Its in PDF format I could email it to you if you need it.

MIke

@Mcphipps
Thank you, McPhipps! I guess I need to check my user settings because I did not get notification of a response. Anyways, I just thought perhaps I could find someone who had solved: