Best charging plan for GEM wet cells?

I have a 2002 GEM E825 … inherited it from my Dad, so I’m new to EVs. I just put in all new 12V wet cell batteries.

MY QUESTION: What’s the best way to charge these batteries to maximize their useful lifespan?

The GEM Quick Reference guide says for best performance “… WHENEVER POSSIBLE, RECHARGE THE BATTERIES—
NO MATTER WHAT STATE OF CHARGE IS INDICATED.”

To me this means always keep the GEM plugin when not in use. Is this the best way to maximize battery life? Since my GEM is used only a few times a week, this means that the cart could be plugged in for a few days continuously without use. Is this good for the battery?

It’s my understanding that wet cells only have a finite number of recharge cycles in their life. If I plug it after EVERY use and keep it plugged in until the next use, won’t I be using up these recharges prematurely?

I could just plug it in when the charge drops to a certain level (50%???). This would reduce the number of recharges and extend the battery life … correct?

Also, will keeping it constantly plugged in keep the batteries “warm” meaning that I’ll have to add water more frequently? (I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, so we rarely get freezing weather.)

I know one can use the master disconnect switch to reduce battery drain, but I don’t want to do this. It’s too much of a hassle to remove the seat and remember to keep turning the switch on and off. I use the GEM for convenience, so “messing” with it too much defeats the whole purpose.

I’m more interested in making the batteries last as long as possible than I am interested in getting the maximum performance out of them. Typically, I’ll make one or two short trips (less than 2-3 miles total) a few times per week on relatively flat terrain. If for some reason my charge is too low … no problem … I’ll drive my regular automobile (gasoline powered).