BDI is blank, no clunk, 72v is good though

My batteries are charged and the charger is working properly but I have nothing on my BDI and when I turn the key on I get no clunk. When I release the parking brake it makes a continuous beep.
I followed the trouble shooting guide with good voltage all the way up to my motor controller and I think that needs to be replaced. It is expensive and I am new to all this and not completely confident in my diagnosis so I am wondering if anyone has suggestions for other possible problems to check for before I fork out the cash for a new motor controller.

Just an FYI, my contactor doesn’t click until I hit the throttle with my 08 eluded. Everyone says it’s supposed to do it when the parking brake is released. It sounds like you might have an issue with your key switch.

What year is the GEM?

what’s the best way to check the key switch? I can’t remember when the contactor would click on mine haha one of those things I never paid much attention to I guess.

It is a 2002 GEM EL.

Sorry I can’t help with that but hopefully someone else will chime in.

My parking brake interlock switch is disabled on my 02, but, IIRC, the main contactor closes when you release the parking brake.

Then it will open after a delay set on the mars timer next to it, and close again when you hit the accelerator.

The BDI should light up when you first turn the key. Try smacking the key switch after you first turn it on and pull the key out. The push on connections on the Medico locks can get loose.

Or, yeah, it could be a bad controller.

If you need the service manual and wiring diagram send me a pm with your email addres.

Thanks, I got the service manual online. I went through the troubleshooting guide in there and that’s how I reached my current diagnosis. Once I read your description of the main contactor sequence, I remembered that’s how mine was working too.
Do you know a way to test the key switch? Other than the smacking method? haha