GEM E825 Drive & Power System Troubleshooting Chart

Hi, I need some verification from the gurus on the forum. I’m a newbie working on a 2002 GEM E825 I got a few months ago. Batteries are all good and charged. One day car worked fine and I parked in the garage, the next day it doesn’t work. No display on GDI, but emergency brake will sound if I disengage. I’ve checked ignition switch (GOOD), checked E-Brake Switch (GOOD). I know I have old pwb board (v2) that has not had recall to new closed unit. I have been going thru the Drive & Power System Troubleshooting Chart in the service manual, proceeding through initial 6 steps til I get to step 6 where it has me check voltage on the B+ input of the Motor Controller. It says if the voltage is approx. 72VDC, to replace the controller. I tested and I’m over 72VDC. Is this test accurate and pretty conclusive? Am I sure I need to run out and BUY a new Controller? Any other things I should test? Again, I’m a newbie, so not sure what else to check or what to do next before buying and changing out equipment. Thanks for any assistance in advance.

Switch off the master battery switch for ~60 seconds and switch it back on again. Watch the display. Does it do anything?

What does the display do when you plug it in to charge?

Have you had the top of the dash off to poke around under there yet?

When you plug the car in to charge do you hear a faint click and maybe(hopefully) a faint whirr of the charger fan? Unplug charger again. Normally, this can’t be plugged in to go.

Locate your charger. There are two smaller wires with push on connectors going to the driver side of this charger. (I think a red and a green). These are your interlock wires, pull them off, pretend to inspect them and push them back on. Try key again.

What procedure did you use to check the key switch?

Depending on how you answer the above, it will direct the next group of suggestions.