2000 e825 GEM / Lithium Volt conversion - Note from Innovation Motorsports

Hi all,

I’m a new GEM owner. 2000 e825.

I’m studying heavily all of the information on this forum regarding converting my Gem to Chevy Volt Lithium packs. I have an old Schott silver charger, and pretty toasted old Trojan batteries. I’m thinking I’ll use this time to convert to lithium, since the outlay for flooded lead etc and a new charger will still be quite high. Also I found a guy here in AZ selling Volt battery packs.

I wrote to Dustin and Innovation Motorsports if they can do a lithium conversion for me.

Here is his reply:

“No we do not. They are nothing but a hassle and they constantly break and have issues. Also the older model GEMs have a very specific suspension setup, single wishbone A Arm design. If you go and pull all the weight out of the car from the normal 6 batteries it’s designed to carry, the car will ride like it’s on 2 by 4’s and you’ll have to change all of the suspension too. Your absolute best bet (if you want maximum range) is to sell the car and buy one of the brand new GEM cars with the (distance gel) option. They do close to 50 miles per charge and it would be cheaper than trying to upgrade an old one in the long run.”

Can anyone please confirm this information? All I’m reading are praises for the lithium conversion and not hearing any regrets from owners…

Ryan

I agree for the most part.
The conversions we talk about are hobby quality.

If you want to do a Leaf or Volt conversion, plenty of help on here.

Adding weight, or adjusting the suspension with lighter springs seems easily remedied if that is a big deal.

But will it “constantly break and have issues”?

The other issues are similar.
Easily remedied, if willing to do it.
Every conversion and expectation is different.
If you want to drop in batteries, and forget it. Not going to happen.
Flooded batteries need more care, and all lead acid need to be cared for. Lithium is the same.