Should I buy or not buy? 2002 GEM E825

Hello everyone total noob here! I have come across a 2002 GEM E825. I think it’s really cool looking and after reading so many topics on this forum I am interested. The seller has been very helpful and knowledge on the unit. He said he has put in new lead battery’s as well as a controller. I plan to go test drive it this weekend and maybe make a purchase. Before I do I wanted to get the opinion from current owners. What should I look for? What is a good price? It does appear to have custom work. We will be primarily using it for our camping trips at RV parks. One park we do go to is near a river and does have one steep incline. As well as some loose river rock. I have used a regular electric golf cart and it had no issues. Also would this last me the day of casual driving around?

1 Like

It all depends on what upgrades it has had and the 2002’s need plenty. It’s usually better to look for a 2013-2015

Thank you David. I have searched and searched and I don’t think GEMs are a big thing in my area. What would you say I good price for this one would be and do you think I would be good for what I am wanting to use it for. I don’t plan on using it for anything more than cruising around rv parks.

No way to price a nice custom Gem. Could be $2k to $12k . It’s worth what it’s worth to you. IMO :slight_smile:
Front wheel drive may have trouble on the hill, but early models have lead up front which may help some.

1 Like

Asking price is 5k I really like it, I just wanted some advice before I knew what I was getting into. The park I we frequently visit, has carts everywhere. We usually rent an regular non lifted standard electric golf cart and it does just fine does slow down a bit going up the big hill. Do these compare to about the same power as one of those?

While this one could be in great condition underneath, I’d be concerned that this one might be lipstick on a pig.