Question about Low Voltage Side of the System

Hello, I am a Prius driver who wants to get rid of my other car (Buick Regal) and build a plug-in EV commuter. I am in the beginning planning stages now and am learning a lot!
I notice most conversion “packages” and descriptions call for a DC-DC converter to provide charging for a separate battery for lights and accessories. My question is why can’t you simply parallel across the first battery in your HV battery set and use the 12 volts from that battery to drive the lights and accessories?
Is there an important reason to keep the LV side completely separate?
Thanks,
Bruce

The dc-dc converter is used so that an equal amount of capacity is taken from the main batteries. Draining a single battery would result in a decreased system voltage and removing the isolation that the converter gives would cause the accessories battery to be discharges by the motor.

Good question.
Like Huronlad said your low voltage or accessories battery to be used also by the propulsion motor would drain it.
Also some points

1. Your low voltage 12 volt system will be very demanding. Lights, blower, heater (heater can be high voltage) vacuum pump, cooling fan for controller, cooling fan for battery boxes, relays and contactors.
  2. If you did pull out one of the series batteries for LV system, the pack would be unbalanced with charging issues.
  3. Some EVers have used an alternator or DC/DC without an accessory battery, most later add the extra battery.
  4. I used a tiny motorcycle battery (5.5" X 3.5" X 6") to start up the relays and contactors then the dc/dc keeps all the 12 volt system going and charges battery. You can adjust the DC/DC output voltage. BTW I added a toggle switch to isolate the little 12 volt guy because the normal parasite drain would cause a no start some mornings.

Bigger image: http://saturn.offical.net/?q=node/167&size=_original

Daniel
http://saturn.lynnautorepair.com