Oh heck, I've done it now. 12 volt? Anyone

Well, I have been totally redoing my litle 2002 E2. I had overheating problems, put in a heat sink and a fan. Was kind of actually proud of myself. (Not a lot of women diyers on this forum!) Also finished a custom stake bed that is darling. Put on new smaller wheels and really cute hub caps. I guarantee I’ve solved the -41 problem now.

But… I was installing a new radio, and accidently crossed the wires. Yikes! Fried the radio, burnt the 12 volt fuse. Okay, I can deal with that. Changed the fuse, new battery… But…my voltmeter doesn’t read 12 volts coming out of the purple wire for switched 12 volt power anymore. What did I do? Can I fix it? Thanks for any help. This forum is a lifeline for me.

(Truth - electricity really isn’t my thing, I’m an engineer, but I’m trying! :slight_smile:

What 12v converter is it? Sure power or the open circuit board?

Um, hmmmm… I’m using the purple wire that comes from the converter. Hmmm…just looked and it says sure power. Thank you for any help!

And I should add, even though my voltmeter reads “low” my fan on this same wire (it has 2 outlets) is running just fine. Things that make you go hmmmmm

Check your volt meter with a known good 12 VDC source (car battery) ! Converter may be damaged but still delivering some kinda chopped up waveform. Fan motor may run on it ok but a device needing some thing closer to pure DC may not. Be sure your volt meter is connected to the ground side of the converter directly - not just to the frame. Could have a bad ground connection some where.

Will the radio work ??

I’ll check tomorrow. Just got a new radio today. I’ve been using the negative of a 12v battery for the voltmeter. I will check against ground with the voltmeter tomorrow. Thanks for any and all suggestions!

You’re welcomed. I’m a new GEM owner - trying to learn the systems used on it