New Guy: Electric Muscle Car

Well,

Having always loved the look of American Muscle Cars, I am planning on converting this 71 Plymouth Duster. I figure it will be about 4500# after conversion. I won’t say yet what my modest range and speed goals are:) I will be using it mainly for commuting and errands on basically flat ground.

I am a novice to EVs. What do you experienced people think I can achieve with a Warp9 at 144 volts using 6v batteries. Any opinions and suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I’m ready to begin the project.

Thanks,
Bruce

No offense meant, but , are you nuts!!! you are going to take a serious value hit by converting a classic! Better to sell it as is, and build or buy an EV of your choice.

[QUOTE=mtngazer;3559]No offense meant, but , are you nuts!!! you are going to take a serious value hit by converting a classic! Better to sell it as is, and build or buy an EV of your choice.[/QUOTE]

Yes mtngazer, I guess I am nuts. After all, I got interested in this EV stuff - and I want to have something different than everyone else. No offense taken. :smiley:

The car is probably not worth as much as you must think. The collector car market has taken a serious hit for about the last year, and Mopar A-bodies were never the high dollar ones to begin with. Who knows, this conversion may actually ADD to its value.

Anyway, that is not really the point. I don’t intend to sell it. I don’t own it for its monetary worth. Similarly to the gentleman who owns the Electric DeLorian, this is a car I own because I enjoy having it. I consider it a work of American art - a symbol of a great time in our history. I think it would be cool to demonstrate it’s old school looks and technology blended with some new ideas. AND, I could actually drive it cleanly and economically.

P.S. I don’t expect the real Mopar and/or muscle car purists to like the idea much either.

Thanks for the response! Let’s hear from some others. What’s my range and speed likely to be?