Manual Transmission on an EV

Hi,

I am a newbie on the EV world. From the topics I read and the pictures I saw, it seems that when people couple a manual transmission to an electric motor, the always remove the clutch.

How will the system work this way? Will the driver be able to perform clutch-less shifting or will the car be used on the same gear all the time?

Kind Regards
Joseph

[QUOTE=joe019;688]Hi,

I am a newbie on the EV world. From the topics I read and the pictures I saw, it seems that when people couple a manual transmission to an electric motor, the always remove the clutch.

How will the system work this way? Will the driver be able to perform clutch-less shifting or will the car be used on the same gear all the time?

Kind Regards
Joseph[/QUOTE]

typically they will not use a normal transmission system, but use only the motor for the transmission because the motor has a high rev-range and can be reversed literally for going into reverse no problem…

what most people will do though is addapt it to fit on an automatic transmission so that they dont need to make new controls for going foward and reverse. not to mention you will have a better range of gears (a bit better top end)

I’ll let NewDawn get in here and talk about the finer points i failed to mention, seeing as i havn’t done a conversion yet and am going off of text not actual experience.

Hi FEUS,

Thanks for your reply. That is exactly what I was thinking. However since I found some pictures of vehicles retaining their original transmission and remove the clutch, I would like to know how they change gears without clutch (if they change gears at all during the drive).

Kind regards
Joseph

[QUOTE=joe019;695]Hi FEUS,

Thanks for your reply. That is exactly what I was thinking. However since I found some pictures of vehicles retaining their original transmission and remove the clutch, I would like to know how they change gears without clutch (if they change gears at all during the drive).