Looking at GEM's...Total Newbie at these!!!

Hello Folks,
Brand new member and very new to NEV’s I am going to look at this GEM tomorrow, 2004 and he says it has 6 new batteries and title. My questions are:

1. what is a round about price I should be paying. I just need to know a baseline and I understand about condition and things like that.
  2. What problems should I look for in the way of mechanical. I am fairly good and fixing things but not an expert.
  3. What would be red flags and definite hard no’s.
    If there are any other questions I should ask please let me know.
    Thanks
    Eugene

Looks like clear is coming off fender which is common. Only gets worse and is a lot of work to strip and repaint - will be expensive to fix. Number one question to verify is the range. If he tells you a number, ask him to drive half that distance with you to see if he’s telling the truth. If he’s lying he won’t want to get stuck with a dead battery. Age of battery is important but brand is even more critical, if you can’t verify the range, assume it needs batteries regardless of how new they are. New batteries can be ruined easily and many brands don’t produce the range you want. Not sure of your area, but a cart like that near me is worth $2.5-3k if batteries prove good and nothing major is wrong.

Is fixing the clear a DIY project?? Thank you.

Fixing the clear coat is a rather large, involved process. Mainly sand off and reapply. Not as easy as it sounds. There are many threads here about it, just search peeling clear coat.
That gem appears to have the vents in front for the cool air kit that was designed to help cool carts that tended to overheat (code 41). Running them hot can be hard on the controller and cause early failure. I would think a good test drive at full throttle for a couple of miles would show if there is a tendency to overheat and help verify battery condition.