Lithium Conversion on 2006 e4

The traditional Gel batteries are up for replacement on our 2006 e4 and are failing to hold a charge so I’m looking at lithium replacement options. I’m not an electrician but am somewhat handy if I have enough information or guides to assist so I’m not opposed to a DIY job.

I ran across the 72v 40ah kit online which peaked my interest. Any experience with these?
https://www.lithiumion-batteries.com/products/72-volt-lithium-battery-kit/gem-car/

I have the DeltaQ charger onboard now and assume I need to replace it. Are there other items that need rewiring (harnesses, etc?) or reprogramming? It can’t be as easy as swapping out batteries and chargers is it?

Thanks.

$3900, ouch.

If you don’t mind a little minor wiring work and a little custom fitting, pretty sure Dave @Inwo could set you up with a 60Ah lifepo4 set that would give you more voltage (= more speed, lots more in some cases) and decent range for a lot less.

I was able to get a complete volt pack for $2300 delivered. That’s enough battery modules for two high voltage GEMs. Charger reprogram and a few odds and ends and I’m in for well less than $2000 for my half. Much faster and longer range. Pretty easy diy job. There’s a ton of info on this forum.

I deeply regret not getting an entire volt pack like you did. I ended up buying them in chunks and probably spent more over the long run.

40ah is not going to be enough unless you are only looking for a couple miles of range tops.

where are you located ? can get you into a lithium set up for under $1500 . between 25- 30 mile range .
Or the super deluxe high range set up for 3k . 4x more capacity then the link you posted . Good chance you wont have to buy a new charger . We are here to help .

2 Likes

@Inwo LiFePO4 25 cell set ups are great in my 2002 e825. Easily under $1700 shipped. Simple install - goodbye lead acid.

1 Like