Just Joined

I’ve been interested in electric vehicles for some time now. I have considered them before, but got more interested when I worked in a warehouse driving electric forklifts back in '91. The one I drove was fairly new and for a forklift was pretty fast. I would haul and put up heavy stock 5 or 6 tiers high on pallet racks all night. The battery lasted way more than 8 hours as the lift I drove was used from the shift before. Every once in a while we would change out a battery, but I never remember one getting weak.

I always thought that if a forklift could do all that heavy work for a good amount of time, why couldn’t one power a car?

My experience was 16 years ago and I would say that at least some technology must be have been gained since then.

I have read some topics, but will be looking forward to reading and learning more.

Bill

awesome, welcome to the forum, and i agree i did the same thing and it got me really excited to see what they could do… right now its a matter of getting the cars to both go an approperate speed and not weigh so much thats the problem. otherwise batteries have come a long way in the last few years and hopefully we will see themdoing some ground breaking new advancements comming soon.

Bill;
Welcome - we are happy to have your input. You might also want to look at “The Battery Vehicle Society”. It is an English site with a bunch of knowledgeable people. By the way, do you recall just how big and heavy those fork truck batteries were?
tommyt

[QUOTE=Tom Thomson;1220]Bill;
Welcome - we are happy to have your input. You might also want to look at “The Battery Vehicle Society”. It is an English site with a bunch of knowledgeable people. By the way, do you recall just how big and heavy those fork truck batteries were?
tommyt[/QUOTE]