High power dc/dc converter?

Hi, I’m new.
Just brainstorming, about making an electric car.
Just to give my background, I’m an industrial electrical controls technician, familiar with installing & setting up 3phase AC inverter drives.

I want to (at some point) make an AC drive car.

I know from the Yaskawa drives that I most familiar with, that you can feed 600VDC to the DC common bus and get 480VAC output. I was pondering if I could find a drive with a bad rectifier section but good inverter section for a discount price, then I could make something work. The problem is, how to get 600VDC from batteries. it would take a ton of them. I have searched the net without much success for a high power DC/DC converter. does anyone know of one that fits the bill offhand? or does anyone know of suitably large AC drive that accepts a lower DC bus voltage?

That would take one serious DC-DC converter.

Your problem, besides cost, would be efficiency. Any time you step up voltage you have substantial losses. 20-50% on average. Really, it would be best to just put together 600V worth of batteries.

Batteries are (in general) are priced per Watt-Hour. A 10 kwh battery at 12 volts would probably cost about the same as 10 kwh at 600v.

Here’s a controller made for electric cars by Kelly Controls.

72V,500A,AC Induction Motor Controller

[QUOTE=strantor;9118]…
The problem is, how to get 600VDC from batteries. it would take a ton of them. I have searched the net without much success for a high power DC/DC converter. does anyone know of one that fits the bill offhand? or does anyone know of suitably large AC drive that accepts a lower DC bus voltage?[/QUOTE]
Quick answer - Use DC to AC modified sine wave inverters. Get them rated for the output current that you need. Say 20 Amps in my case. Take them apart and connect to the high voltage DC bus inside, about 150 VDC. Chain them, + to - , together to get the voltage you need. Use one large fork truck battery for each inverter.