120 Volt Charger for Under $100 possible?

Since this is my first post I would like to introduce myself. I am an engineer working in northern Michigan, my degree is in mechainal engineering but I was a mechanic way before I was an engineer. I sand drag race in my spare time, I have a turbocharged VW dragster that goes 90MPH in 300 feet (thats 1/4 of a 1/4 mile) on sand. I have been working on things as long as I can remember and am in need of a new vehicle so I thought about going electric. Just thought I would give some background I know I like knowing who I am talking to and what level of understanding they have.

I have been doing a lot of reseaerch and will start on my first EV conversion soon. My plan is:
S-10 Pickup
Warp 9 motor
120 volt system Ten - 12 volt Exide deep cell batteries
Curtis controller

The question today is about a charger, as you know most chargers for 120 volt system are quite expensive. I had an idea for a charger and wanted to get people’s thoughts on the concept. I read on a windmill forum about taking a 12 volt car alternator and operating it at higher voltages. From what I read it is easy to get 130 volts without hurting them at all
http://islandcastaway.com/stuff/windpower/Alternator%20Secrets.htm
I have seen many 120 volt DC converters to run power tools off your car. You don’t see them as much anymore since inverters and small generators became less expensive, but they were quite popular years ago and worked good.

So my thought is take a GM alternator modified to put out 130 volts and spin it with a 5HP electric motor if I can get 30 to 40 amps that should be comparable to the chargers available and save over $2,000 since I can build it with pieces I alraedy have. I know that it would not condition the battery like an expensive charger will but I thought every couple months I could charge the batteries individually with my small deep cell 12 volt charger.

So any thoughts will it work? Has anyone tired this method?
Tom