Error Code 42

Well I have been wrestling with my Gem for several months now. It all started with a bad controller. I had it rebuilt and within days of installing the rebuilt unit she stopped running all together. I was not getting any error codes, but all signs indicated that the DeltaQ charger may have been the culprit. But after sending that out…there was nothing wrong with it.

I then looked at batteries, and found one of the six to be slightly lower than the others (12.5v instead of 12.7v) so I replaced it…that didn’t do it.

I did get an error code finally after having the batteries disconnected overnight. Code 42 armature voltage high electrical fault inspect motor controller. So it is bringing me back to the controller again. Has anyone experienced this before?

Unhook your motor leads and ohm out your motor. Field about 1.6 ohms Armature about.6 on the 200 ohm scale. Check all for shorts to case.

Hi Rodney. Im getting 1.2 across field. And .2 across armature. At 200ohms

Should be ok. you might want to pull the motor and check for stuck brushes.

You don’t have to pull the whole thing.

Remove the armature cables and take out the 2 or 4 bolts holding the motor together and pull out the assembly. Do you have a GE or RFF motor.

42 usually means a trip to the fixit shop for the controller.

Rodney

It is a 5hp GE motor

Steve

You have a 1 year warrenty on the T3 repair

Rodney

Rodney
I pulled the motor this morning and it looked factory new inside and out. No corrosion, and no carbon dust inside. I removed all terminal lugs and cleaned everything with wire brush. The shaft spun cleanly inside housing. I was not able to see the brushes without removing the top cover which I did not do in fear of not being able to line something up correctly after removal. So I reassembled the terminal lugs and reinstalled in car and still have the same code 42.

Stephen

Steve