Different methods of charging or maintaining power

I’m not a scientist, or very smart, for that matter, but I had an idea and wanted to post it to see if anyone else thinks it might work. the idea is this: one of the big drawbacks to most ev’s is there range. what about using a three way system of recovering power to the battery pack while driving? i thought of using a vehicle with solar panels, wind turbines in the grill area and possibly some type of flywheel to generate power when braking or coasting? is this a possible solution? thanks for any answers you all could give me…

I don’t claim to know much about EVs either (total newbie as a matter of fact), but solar panels definitely work, although you probably can’t put enough panels on your car to move it down the road. When I build mine I’ll probably put a couple of RV panels on the roof to charge the accessory battery. Regenerative braking requires an AC motor and more sophisticated controllers, don’t know much about it.

The wind turbines would be a loser, unless, you could only deploy them where you are braking or coasting down hill. In normal driving they could not produce enough electricity to overcome the extra drag they create.

[QUOTE=rjstractor;2142]I don’t claim to know much about EVs either (total newbie as a matter of fact), but solar panels definitely work, although you probably can’t put enough panels on your car to move it down the road. When I build mine I’ll probably put a couple of RV panels on the roof to charge the accessory battery. Regenerative braking requires an AC motor and more sophisticated controllers, don’t know much about it.

The wind turbines would be a loser, unless, you could only deploy them where you are braking or coasting down hill. In normal driving they could not produce enough electricity to overcome the extra drag they create.[/QUOTE]

:eek: claps good job.