The big draw back

I love the idea of electric cars. I want one. Right now they are very hard to get in Canada (where I am) plus the price is a bit of an ouch but I can get over those two hurdles. The big draw back to me is the limited range. Most cars that I have seen listed as “on the market now” vehicles have a range of about 200km (130 miles) before you must recharge them. For those living in the city and STAYING in the city that’s fine, more than fine, but what about road trips? A person cannot be expected to stop after 3 hours of driving to recharge for 8-10 hours. That is just not reasonable.
I did not post this to complain. I posted because I have a few ideas on how to solve this problem, though I am no engineer. I was wondering any one on this forum has heard about any EV companies tackling this problem currently or even if it has already been solved by somebody.
My ideas go like this. Why not have the vehicle charging it’s own batteries while in motion? You could have air vents “a la ram air system” directing forced air to wind type turbines, or solar panels on the roof, or some kind of turbine system attached to the drive shaft even. None of these systems would necessarily "solve the electricity consumption problem but it would make the power last longer especially if used together in some way.
So does any one know if any EV companies are actually doing this, using the vehicles on motion to generate energy?

Welcome to the forums!

To answer your question: