Custom tranny

hey all,

i’m planning hopefully soon to do a DIY car conversion.
I worked on a chain drive plug-in go-kart in school and now i’m considering doing a biggger car version.

I’m not a mechanic so I was wondering about installing a custom simple 2 gear tranny or is it possible to modify the stock tranny to reduce some weight?

or who makes the tesla roadster tranny?

is moding the tranny worth exploring?

thanks!

sounds like your better off making your own and making it a 2 stage tranny… one low gear and one high gear. lots of math involved… or even better for ease would be a CVT transmission :wink:

Although I have not done this I have done a little research into the same thing. There are a few options. A lot of low buck racers use a 2 speed tranny so you can look into those. They may be overkill and may not have desirable gear ratios but it is an area to look into. Also most 5 speed trannies can be modified. If you are itching to reduce the weight by a few pounds then you can probably remove some of the unneeded gears and effectively make it a two speed transmission. You would be wise to install some sort of stop on the shift fork so that you don’t accidentally shift into a gear that no longer exists.

[QUOTE=ZPD;2026]There are a few options. A lot of low buck racers use a 2 speed tranny so you can look into those. [/QUOTE]

i tried looking for custom trannies online but i couldn’t find anything… any links? yeah if these 2 speed tranny are a cheap option then i think it’s worth exploring… i think selling the original car tranny for something cheaper and lighter is worth it?

[QUOTE=ZPD;2026]
5 speed trannies can be modified…you can probably remove some of the unneeded gears and effectively make it a two speed transmission. [/quote]