Charger operations?

I am fairly new to the Gem world and have not found my answers through searching the forums so forgive my ignorance. I have a 2005 E4 with a delta q Model 910-7200 there is also a number 7212 on the charger. With the old floded batteries the stat of charge indicator seemed to be working. I did not notice the charger indicators as I was resurrecting the machine from years of sitting and not paying attention to this.

I replaced my batteries with Deka 8-31 gels. last week. The charger algorithm is set for gel batteries.The cart runs well with full power until the batteries get low - then there is little power and speed but the state of charge indicates 100% battery charge. I have learned that holding the cart on a hill using the motor rather than breaks causes a motor overheat and very slow operations but do not think this is related to my charger issues.
The state of charge indicator never goes down when I use the cart. I drove 10 miles yesterday and the indicator never went below 100%.
When I plug in the charger looking at the lights on the charger I get a flashing red fault light and solid AC power indicators. If I unplug the charger and cycle the main power switch and plug in the charger the dash fully lights up including the charging plug in light and then goes out after a short time. At this time the charger may indicate it is charging or just give me a fault light. Repeated attempts will give me the full bars yellow light and AC light on the charger indicating the unit is charging - no dash lights are on after the initial short display of charging mode operation. Fast forward several hours and usually the charger displays the red flashing fault light. Once there was a solid green light indicating full charge.