2002 e825 Electrical Issues 4 Seater

Hello,

I’m having several issues with a 2002 that I just bought this summer. I’m also new to GEM and the forum. I searched for many of the answers in the forum and couldn’t find what I’m looking for.

Firstly, when I’m charging the car, I will ground out and feel the 12v buzz when I touch the turn signal handle or the battery cutoff switch under the seat. It’s annoying and I don’t think that it’s normal. Does any one else have this issue?

Also, my batteries will drain very quickly especially if they’re not used for a few days. Granted the seller put in reconditioned deep cycles, but I feel like they should still stay somewhat charged when left on the charger over a few days.

Plus, some of the batteries will switch polarities. Anyone else?

I’ve been charging each battery individually and have already replaced one with a used Trojan DC. But I still run into these issues.

Finally, I have the opportunity to buy a 2006 with dead batteries, but supposedly no issues. I like the idea of the front disc brakes, but if any one has some advice on moving up a few years, I’d like to hear it.

Thank you!

The buzz is probably a low battery warning. I’d check the voltage level and assure you have ~76v from the fuse underneath the dash and -B on controller. If that all checks out do a load test by jacking the front wheels and checking the voltage dissipation for each battery using long leads and banana clips when running the motor. You don’t want to see the batteries veer .5v from each other as well as dipping below 10.5v. I wouldn’t recommend replacing individual batteries if they are older than 3 years due to built up resistance on older batteries making the newer ones work harder and decreasing their overall lifespan.

Thanks for the advice on the batteries, and once I figure out how to properly test them I will.