1953 Chevy Pickup Conversion

Howdie!
First I just wanted to say I’ve been pouring through the posts, and you guys, and gals I presume, are awesome. I’m additcted to the EV concept and am finally ready to start work on one. However, I need some help and I’m hoping you all will impart some wisdom upon me.

I have done some solar power installations on the homes I remodel so I have some basic dc electrical knowledge. I also used to renovate older cars back in high school.

So down to what I’d like to do.
[B]Rolling Frame and Body:[/B] 1953 chevy pickup
[B]Use: [/B]Daily driver, but that daily distance is never more than 20 miles total.
[B]Speed: [/B]Top speed of 55 mph, but only for a distance of 10 miles max.
[B]HP: [/B]It will need to cary small loads, a 1000 lbs max, but again only for short distance, and not at hight speed.
[B]Budget:[/B] $5,000 for something that will fulfill some of those requirements–or-- $8,000 for something that fulfills all of them.

So, where do I start? I like the idea of direct drive, but what really works and is cost and energy efficient for what I’m looking to do? Are there kits available? If so, how do you adapt them to the existing tranmission or drive line? The only thing I’ve seen so far that immediately makes visual sense is that Transwarp 11 motor with the 1350 universal joint for connecting directly to a dive shaft or differential.

If you don’t mind giving me as much detail as you can tollerate, I’d appreciate it.

I’m ready to get to work, but I realize there is a lot I need to learn.

Thanks,
Ryan

ok, to start off, the truck. is it a manual or automatic?

that truck might need a revamp in the suspension depending on the route you decide to go with for providing power. (assuming batteries?)

direct drive is nice, BUT expensive… for your budget i think you would be better off getting an electric motor and just making a plate to bolt it into the existing transmission, and then put in the batteries and the controller.