Moves, click, click, click...... dies.....

Gem Newbie here! Bought 2012 e2, batteries dead (2013), but otherwise clean and good condition.

• Replaced dead gel batteries with brand new gel batteries, but got nothing when I turned everything on.
  • Plugged in to charge (which I thought was stupid with new batteries) overnight, and the display began to do its thing showing it was charging.
  • Next morning, display showed full charge…
  • Turned on, pushed accelerator, heard clicking under hood (almost like something was flapping against something as it rotated- like something stuck in a wheel that makes contact with something as it turns)
  • Got up to 4mph (don’t worry, seat belt was secure), and about 50 yds later, it simply goes silent and stops (display and other electrics seem to still work)
  • Got mad, said some really nasty things, probably scared and/or offended neighbors
  • Pushed back into garage
  • Said more nasty things
  • Decided to ask for help from those that know more than me

Thoughts?
Thx

Too late now after charging, but double check battery connections. Plus to minus all the way through the string.
New batteries do need to be charged, but they should have let the car start.
Other issues can wait until you are sure each battery and connections are good.

I think what Inwo was hinting at above ^^ is one of your batteries may have been hooked up backwards (which is really bad since you plugged it in for an overnight charge session).

If you don’t already have one, go scrounge up a meter of reasonable quality. Voltage checks will be next.

Yikes! Can you explain what the “bad” may be? I am out of town and will need to look when I get home tomorrow. Is there an image of how the connections should configure? Pretty sure things run + to - between each battery (12V gel), but always better to check against a diagram, if available.

Is there any “good”? Flights are aways better with positive thoughts :slight_smile: