Lithium help-San Diego

Wondering if there’s someone in the San Diego/OB area who could help me with converting to lithium? I’ve read all the posts but just don’t have the skills or time to do it on my own. I contacted a place that was recommended but they said they can’t do it, apparently they tried once before and failed. Any help is appreciated

@cedwards is 3 hours away. I just sent him batteries.
Best bet is to ship your Gem to @grantwest.
He will also make a drop in kit for your mechanic.

Grant is your best bet, if you want more of “turnkey” solution. I’d love to collaborate with someone to help with a conversion, but full disclosure… I’ve never done a GEM before! I have an old GEM sitting here that I want to get to… but haven’t really started on it. And I’m probably more like 4-5 hours away, in the high desert, Landers… 92285

1 Like

I am in Glendale, CA. Have done two 2002 conversions using @Inwo green lithium cells. I believe these maybe the same cells he’s sent to @cedwards in Landers. If you wanna consider bringing it up here on a trailer, happy to consider doing the install if @cedwards will provide the batteries. What shape is your GEM currently in?

If you were Intrested I could build you a kit and you could install it. You gonna need some basic skills and be willing to do some work. OR you could ship your car up here to NorCal I could get it here for $350
And I could build , install & test your car so you don’t have to do anything.

This would include Battery pack assembly
JST Leeds & BMS installation charger Reprogram & installation BMS calibrate Shunt install & calibrate and all your BMS settings dialed in. All the wiring & odds & ends to make it dialed in. I have 2 proven set up’s 20 cell and 24 cell. So depending on what you want/need and if your Intrested and you have the $ to play with I can get you set up.

1 Like